Necessitas View Gallery


Sire: Zacinto

Dam: Of the Essence

Colour: Bay

Gender: Filly

Age: 4 year old

Foaled: Oct 26th, 2015

Country: New Zealand


K W Franklin, Mrs J M Franklin, D W Franklin, Mrs E R Franklin, Mrs S M Brodie, M L Brodie, S D Kempster, Mrs A Kempster, A J Blackshaw, R Erwin, T R Pocock, A Zamanis, Mrs A Zamanis, R S Hafner, Mrs D Hafner, B M Vallance, P J Curtis, R M Crook, Mrs T L Crook & King Cobras (Mgr: T Conn)

Career Record: 9-1-0-4

  • Prizemoney
  • Wins
    11.1 %
  • Place
    44.4 %

Horse Description:

Zacinto was a classy galloper himself during his career in England, winning a Listed contest and a Group 2 event at his first two starts, becoming another stakes winner for his champion sire DANSILI, the sire of international superstars HARBINGER, FLINTSHIRE, RAIL LINK and THE FUGUE.

Zacinto has made a super start to his stud career in New Zealand with his son UGO FOSCOLO scoring in the Group 1 NZ 2000 Guineas, Group 3 James & Annie Sarten Memorial Stakes (1400m) and potentially on a Cox Plate path. Zacinto also sired the stakes winner ZIGWIG while the exciting Sidestep has been sold to Hong Kong to target the Hong Kong Derby. Zacinto is well clear on the New Zealand's Leading Second Season Sire's list by both earnings and winnings.

This filly’s dam Of The Essence was a 10-time winner in New Zealand at distances ranging from 1355m to 2200 and has had no runners to date but is a daughter of the YAMANIN VITAL, the sire of Group 1-winning stayers WHOSHOT THE BARMAN, HERCULIAN PRINCE and CUT THE CAKE.

Purchased for $77,500 nzd at NZB Select Yearling Sale - click.





Bay fillyFoaled in 2015

ZACINTO (GB) HasiliKahyasi
2006IthacaDistant ViewMr. Prospector
  Reams of VerseNureyev
DamYamanin VitalSir TristramSir Ivor
OF THE ESSENCE (NZ) She Might HulaCaucasus
2001Bonnie JayKings IslandPersian Bold
  Marjie JayNoble Bijou

ZACINTO (GB) (Bay 2006-Stud 2012). 3 wins-1 at 2-at 7f, 1m, Goodwood Celebration Mile, Gr.2. Out of SP Ithaca. Sire of 73 rnrs, 38 wnrs, inc. SW Ugo Foscolo (New Zealand Two Thousand Guineas, Gr.1), Secret Allure, Vassilator, Odeon, Zigwig, SP Son of Zac and of Navagio, Shadow King, Wize Act, Zawhip, Aerohappiness, Not Usual Talent, Charlie Horse, Monrecour, Namjong Plus, Pickup, Strowan, Zakynthos, Necessitas, Banstead, Into Rio, etc.


1st dam

OF THE ESSENCE, by Yamanin Vital. 10 wins from 1350m to 2200m, NZ$120,738, Otago RC Queenstown Cup, White Robe Lodge H., Gore Cup-twice, 2d Otago RC Tip Top Bread H., 3d Otago RC Cromwell Cup, CJC Speights H., Pacific Sheet & Coil H., Otago RC Ray Pledger Farewell H., Waimate Cup, 4th Otago RC Dunedin Gold Cup, L. Three-quarter-sister to Yamarjie. Dam of two foals, both raced-

Necessitas (f. by Zacinto). Winner. See below.

Times Flying (f. by Raise the Flag). Placed in 2018-19 in NZ.


2nd dam

BONNIE JAY, by Kings Island. Unraced. Half-sister to A GORDON FOR ME, MARJIE MARJIE, Sam I Am. Dam of 9 named foals, all raced, 7 winners, inc:-

Of the Essence. 10 wins. See above.

Wasabe. 7 wins at 1200m, 1400m, S$308,785, Singapore TC Class 1 H., Benchmark 87 H., Benchmark 97 H., Benchmark 75 H., Benchmark 67 H., Benchmark 62 H., 2d Singapore TC Korea Racing Association Trophy, Benchmark 97 H., 3d Singapore TC Class 1 H., Benchmark 97 H., Benchmark 75 H.

Star of Mulwala. 5 wins from 1200m to 1600m, CJC Karaka Premier Sale H., Otago RC Dunedin Casino Trophy, 3d Waikato RC Diamond Express H. Dam of-

Chequered Flag (Raise the Flag). 6 wins from 1600m to 3250m, NZ$33,025, A$290,080, to 2017-18, SAJC Ubet H., Ubet H., MRC Chef's Hat H., 2d Ballarat TC JJ Houlahan Hurdle, VRC 1 Oliver St P., ARC Laser Electrical Papakura H., MVRC TSols Tips H., Waikato RC Dunstan Feeds H., Allied Security H., 3d VRC Andrew Ramsden S., L, Hawkes Bay Bostock Carnival Farewell H., MRC Le Pine Funerals H., Vale AJ Murphy H., Waikato RC Skycity Waikato Cup 10th Dec H.

La Bon Bon. 2 wins at 1200m, 1400m, Otago RC Carlton Bar & Restaurant H.

(Kiwi) Surveillance. 6 wins from 1200m to 2200m, 2d WATC Oakbank Welter H.

It's Essential. 3 wins at 1200m, 1400m in NZ.

Dragon Rhyne. Winner at 1100m in Macau.


3rd dam

MARJIE JAY, by Noble Bijou. Winner at 1500m in NZ. Half-sister to Brother Bill - Tuan Kiat (Mal.). Dam of 10 named foals, 6 to race, 5 winners, inc:-

A GORDON FOR ME (Le Grand Seigneur). 26 wins from 1200m to 1600m, NZ$319,320, Otago RC White Robe Lodge H., Gr.3-twice, CJC Churchill S.H., L, Great Easter S.H., L-twice, Otago RC James Hazlett S.H., L, Timaru Cup, L, Otago RC Keep it Clean H.-twice, Gordon's Gin H., CJC Nederburg H., Air New Zealand H., Christchurch Casino H., Courier Post H., Gimcrack H., Fastpost H., North Canterbury Cup, 2d CJC Stewards' S.H., Gr.3, Challenge S.H., Gr.3-twice, Otago RC White Robe Lodge H., Gr.3-twice, Canterbury Gold Cup, Gr.3, CJC Churchill S.H., L, Otago RC James Hazlett S.H., L, South Island 3YO Championship Final, L, Timaru Cup, L, Timaru S., L, CJC Excelsior Hotel H., 3d Hawkes Bay Kelt Capital S., Gr.2, Otago RC Dunedin Gold Cup, Gr.3, White Robe Lodge H., Gr.3, Canterbury Gold Cup, Gr.3, Te Aroha JC Thames Valley S., Gr.3, Otago RC James Hazlett S.H., L, Southland S.H., L-twice, CJC Hotel Russley H., 4th CJC Challenge S.H., Gr.3, Marton JC Metric Mile, Gr.3, Otago RC James Hazlett S.H., L, CJC Great Easter S.H., L, Timaru Cup, L.

MARJIE MARJIE (Khozaam). 2 wins at 1600m, Otago RC South Island 3YO Championship Final, L, Ashburton RC Inglewood S., L, 3d Otago RC Fairfield Tavern H. Producer.

Sam I Am (Sound Reason). 4 wins at 1200m, 1600m, WATC Winter Series H., Otago Trainers Wives H., 2d WATC Belmont Park Cup, L, Veterinary Panel Welter H., Family of Man H., Otago RC Wilson Caterers H., Random Chance H., Taieri Print H., CJC Racecourse Hotel H.

Marjie Girl. Placed at 2, 3d CJC Dave Kerr Memorial 2YO H. Dam of-

Yamarjie (Yamanin Vital). 5 wins from 1300m to 1600m, A$98,100, 2d BRC Brisbane H., L, Score More With Knorr H., Blackwoods H., Mimiki Foundation H., H., BTC XXXX Gold 2YO P., QTC Hartleys Spirit 2YO P. Producer.


Race Record: 6 Starts 1-0-2 A$29,410.

Winner at 1600m in 2018-19, 3d VRC Byerley 2YO H.